Camila Hernandez:Ignorance is Bliss

What has resonated with me during my brief time in Intro to Media are the works we’ve been reading which beg the question-Is ignorance really bliss? Or more importantly-is bliss more important than knowledge and understanding of the world? In my personal life, I’ve found myself shying away from news and information that alter my mood. But ultimately, this decision takes away from me experiencing important human emotion and empathy. Fahrenheit 911 did an excellent job of narrating the damage intentional ignorance can do to the individual and to society. Also, the case for reparations opened my eyes to why we need more authentic journalism and historical reports. I believe that if we are exposed to more truth, people will be more understanding and tolerant which will lead to a more peaceful state.

Leave a Reply

