Reflection – Shannon Outcalt

Taking Media 180 has been invaluable in helping me to assess the messages that are thrown at me every day in advertising and popular culture. Examining how we relate to consumer culture (and the excess it produces) has been incredibly eye-opening – I doubt I would’ve given my shopping addiction any serious thought had I not taken this class. I also learned that advertising and media isn’t all bad. Throughout history, many major positive changes have taken place thanks to political activists who have used both print and digital media to their advantage. Informing and influencing public opinion is a great power to have, but it comes with a lot of responsibility. Thanks to this course, I’ll be able to use my position as a consumer and producer of media in a responsible, positive way.

Leave a Reply

