Reflection- Christopher Lentine

I really enjoyed the lectures on advertising and how the media persuades us into wanting products using different strategies. This affected me outside of the class because I started to look at ads on tv, in magazines and on the subway and analyze why I wanted the product or why other people would want it. I found it very interested to understand how the public can be manipulated this way and that was mainly what the class meant to me. I enjoyed learning about the effects of pictures and film and how they can send messages as opposed to the written word. I also enjoyed going into history for examples as they were very clear to understand and also relatable to today. This showed me how significant these ideas were and made me realize that the media has been using the same techniques for years even though I never noticed. Thanks to this class I now have noticed and am interested to see how media evolves in the future.

Leave a Reply

